Food experiments: Dave’s Hearty Beer Stew

For my friends’ birthdays, I’d rather make them dinner then go out and spend the same amount of money buying them two drinks.  That’s just me.   So yesterday was my old friend Alex’s 24th birthday and I wanted to try out something new that would be great on the beautiful fall day.  I don’t usually share my culinary explorations because I wait for the right one to share.  This one is definitely one of those.

This was what I came up with and it was conceived completely on my own looking around what was fresh at the market (and a rough estimate for those who follow recipes):

Dave’s Hearty Beer Stew

Ingredients:

  • 28 oz  of diced tomatoes
  • 24 oz. of lager
  • 6 oz. of tomato paste
  • 1 lb of sausage (*I used lamb chorizo, but that can easily be a vegetarian, turkey, beef, or pork)
  • 1 large shallot
  • 1 medium-sized purple onion
  • 1 medium-sized red pepper
  • 1 bundle of a hearty green (*I used green chard, but kale can be a good substitute)
  • 1/2 of a winter squash (*I used acorn squash, but butternut or spaghetti are good substitutes)
  • 2 long carrots
  • 6 cloves of garlic
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • Spices to taste —  sea salt, cracked pepper, cayenne, red pepper flakes
  • Extra bonus:  hot sauce (if you like it spicy)

Directions:

  1. Simmer dice tomatoes, tomato paste, beer, garlic, and olive oil in a large pot with some pepper and sea salt.
  2. Sauté chard in some sea salt and olive oil
  3. Chop onion, squash, pepper, shallot, and carrot then roast for 40 min on 375 degrees.
  4. Boil sausages in a pan of water until outer layer is cooked, take out sausages and slice 1 1/2-2 inches thick, empty the water from pan, add olive olive and then brown each side of the sausage, so it doesn’t fall apart when you add it to the pot.
  5. Add chard, roasted veggies, sausage, and spices to pot and simmer on low for at least 90 minutes.

I got all these ingredients from the local market at Union Square and I only spend $18.  It will feed 4 people with plenty of leftovers.

About David Chaitt

my name is dave. i write about music, culture, technology, and food.
This entry was posted in Cheap Cooking, Organic Food, Vegetarian meal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

