Bourbon Applesauce (RECIPE)

So last night I had 12 or so friends and friends of friends over for the first night of Hanukkah.  When I cook for my friends, I might as well be on camera.  I always ask myself:  how can I make this recipe my own.

In regards to last night in particular, I made bourbon apple sauce to compliment my homemade latkes.  Likes usual, it didn’t follow a recipe or anything.  I had a good idea of what I was going to do, so I improvised, took a taste test, and tweaked as needed.  Below is most like the best recipe you’re gonna get from me for this:

  • Portion 1/2 apple per person, so I used 6 apples (specifically Honeycrisp).  Cut into chunks and add to medium saucepan.
  • Add apple cider (I used Red Jacket Orchards) until it covers 80% of the apples (alternative:  mix in water if you don’t like it as sweet).
  • Dash in spices to taste (in order of how heavy I used them):  cinnamon, ginger, cloves, and allspice (optional addition:  brown sugar if you like it sweeter).  Please splash mixture around and taste before going overboard with the spices.
  • Add bourbon (I used Brooklyn’s own Kings County Distillery) until it covers 90% of the apples.
  • Bring mixture to boil, then simmer until apples are soft, and take off burner.
  • Use potato masher to crush apples to preferred texture (alternate:  some people like to blend it for a creamier texture)
  • Add two shots of bourbon for an extra kick, put lid back on, wait for it to naturally cool down, then serve!!!!

It tastes as good as it sounds, so give it a shot and let me know what you think.

About David Chaitt

my name is dave. i write about music, culture, technology, and food.
This entry was posted in Cheap Cooking, Dinner with Friends, Organic Food, recipe, Vegetarian meal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

