Just Confirmed: Prairie Empire

Four months ago I asked BBS photographer Dominick if he wanted to join me at Rubin Museum of Art to see a lecture on the potential scientific reality of erasing memory similar to what was theatrically portrayed in Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind. This lecture followed up with a screening of the film. He mentioned to me that his friend Brittain would be joining us. A few weeks prior to the movie, Dominick had emailed me a link to the video he made for a song off Brittain’s album for her group Prairie Empire (see below), so I was excited to meet her.

After the movie, her and I had shlepped back to Williamsburg in snow with the L train down (yes, one of those weekends). Through this epic 90 minute journey of walking, taking bus, and a train, I got to know her fairly well and decided then and there that I’d do my best to get her for a session this summer.

Musically Prairie Empire sounds almost as if they’re a Pacific Northwest version of Bon Iver with a female lead. Brittain’s voice however sounds has a quirky southern twang to it, but from my understanding, she’s not even from the south. But do yourself a favor by listening to her music and making up your own mind.

About David Chaitt

my name is dave. i write about music, culture, technology, and food.
This entry was posted in Just Confirmed and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

