Thanksgiving Beet Salad [RECIPE]

I made the entire Thanksgiving meal myself.  It’s not as bad as many moms and aunts say it is.  I enjoy cooking.  I enjoy seeing other people enjoy my food.  So Thanksgiving is probably the best holiday for me.  Plus my family handled all the cleanup, which is usually the worst part.

Thanksgiving Feast

To open up the meal, I completely winged a salad that ended up tasting delicious.

The night before, I roasted whole medium-sized beets for an hour on 500 degrees.  As soon as they came out of the oven, I peeled the outer layer.  Waiting until they’re cool will make them more difficult to peel, so bite a wooden spoon and get it done while it’s hot.  I then waited for the beets to cool down, cubed them, and put into Tupperware in the fridge.

Two hours before the meal, I made the dressing combining sliced strawberries with aged balsamic, olive oil, and Mike’s Hot Honey with salt and pepper to taste.  There should enough liquid to almost completely cover the strawberries in a bowl.  I let that sit until everyone was seated and ready to eat.

I added all the dry ingredients in a bowl together (beets, arugula, and toasted walnuts) then slowly tossed in the dressing.  I plated the salad with an additional drizzle of hot honey.

It was the perfect sweet, savory, and spicy start to the meal.

About David Chaitt

my name is dave. i write about music, culture, technology, and food.
This entry was posted in Cheap Cooking, Organic Food, recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

