My First Batch of Homemade Mozzarella

For my birthday, my girlfriend gave me two surprise classes at Brooklyn Kitchen, the latter of which we would attend together.  The first class was Knife Skills and I ended up buying a fancy knife as a birthday gift for myself.  The second was, as it turned out, mozzarella making class.  The class was being taught by one of the cheesemongers at Eataly, so I knew during her introduction that she would be legit and I’d learn a lot from her.

My mozzarella turned out tasty (as you will see below), but surprisingly didn’t yield as much as expected given that we used 1.5 gallons of milk.

To make the conversions easier from the 1.5G recipe I used, below is the recipe for 1G.

20130212-185009.jpg

Phase one is making the curd.

  •  Lightly pour 1G milk (creamline, lightly pasteurized) across the sides of the stainless steal pot.
  • Gradually add citric acid solution (1 1/2 tsp. in 1/2 cup bottled water) while you stir gently.
  • Turn on low heat and bring mixture to approx 88-90 degrees F (10-12 minutes)
  • Once the temp is reached, turn off the heat and add the rennet solution (1/4 tsp rennet in 1/4 cup bottled water)

20130212-185003.jpg

  • After 30 minutes, a jello custard-like texture should be achieved.  Cut the curd into 3/4-1 in squares.
  • Let the curd sit for 5 min after being cut.

20130212-184954.jpg

  • Heat to 105 degrees F.  Slowly stur the curds while they are heating (approx 10-15 min).
  • Once temp is reached, remove from heat and continue to stir for 3-5 min.

20130212-184945.jpg

  • Ladle the curds into a colander lined with cheesecloth  and allow liquid whey to drain for approx 10-15 min.

20130212-184933.jpg

  • To test, if it’s ready to stretch, lift up the cheesecloth and it should barely drip.

20130212-184920.jpg

Phase two is Stretching

  • Remove the curd from the cheesecloth and cut into 1-2 in cubes (Note:  below pic is 1/4 of the cheese that was made in my batch as I was in a group of 4)

20130212-184909.jpg

  • Cover the curds with hot water and let it sit for 3 min or until curbs are evenly warmed and malleable/stretchy.
  • Drain off water and pour more hot water over the curds bringing the internal temp in the curd to 135 degrees F.
  • Begin stretching the curd.  Vertically pull down lightly enough for gravity to do most of the work.  As cheese begins to cool down, dunk in the hot water until it once again hot enough for stretching.
  • Once the cheese is properly stretched, add 1/2 tbsp of salt and continue stretching until the salt is evenly distributed throughout.
  • To fashion a proper mozzarella ball, take vertical strand of stretched mozz, fold forward, fold backward, and then fold stacked portion into itself, tear, then repeat.  (note:  make sure cheese is still hot enough)

20130212-184850.jpg

With this cheese I made homemade flatbread pizza…and I mean homemade.  The cheese.  the sauce.  The dough.  See below.

20130212-202235.jpg 20130212-202229.jpg

I loved both classes at Bk Kitchen.  Learned a lot.  Got 10% off some awesome kitchen supplies.   Definitely recommend taking one if you can.

About David Chaitt

my name is dave. i write about music, culture, technology, and food.
This entry was posted in Cheap Cooking, Organic Food, Vegetarian meal and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My First Batch of Homemade Mozzarella

  1. Making my own mozz has been on my bucket list for awhile now… How exciting!

  2. Neocon says:

    I always thought cheese had a lot of sodium (salt) in it. But you only used a nominal amount. Please go into more detail regarding the milk. Was it whole, 2% or not fat?

  3. ihtreuer says:

    Well done, mozzarella is a great cheese to make at home, though it is one cheese I can’t seem to be consistant with. I call it a gateway cheese, it will lead to more cheese making.

Leave a Reply

